Tags

, , , , , , ,

My resume is growing. Until now, I’ve been a dishwasher, I’ve murdered lobsters, I’ve catered a Bar Mitzvah (where they requested pork, I might add). I’ve worked as a chocolatier, worked garde manger at an upscale Italian restaurant, worked behind the scenes at Harvest on the Harbor, competed in culinary competitions, catered a Steampunk event…and now I’ve catered a wedding. At least, I’ve catered the desserts for a wedding.

At the bakery, making mini pastries for weddings is something I do almost every week, but when I was approached about doing a dessert table for a friend, I was apprehensive nonetheless. The outcome of my efforts, whether wonderful or horrifying, would all be mine to bear. I would have no one to hide behind if things went awry. I said yes, though, because it was the right thing to do. A role model of mine wisely told us that stress is good for growth and so I said yes in order to level up, stretch my skills, and hopefully, boost my confidence.

I had one month to prepare for the wedding. I first sat down with the couple and we discussed what they were looking for, what flavors they liked and whatnot. We came up with a suitable menu: something chocolate, something gluten free, something earthy, something seasonal. We had a variety of flavors and textures. In retrospect, I should have thrown in more color variation somehow.

Here is the menu as it was:

Gingerbread Macarons with Spiced White Chocolate Ganache

Baklava

Mini Chocolate Cupcakes with Salted Caramel Buttercream

Coconut Macaroons with Chocolate Bottoms

Mini Eclairs

Pumpkin Cheesecake Bites

I also made a carrot cake for the bride and groom to cut. Nothing too tall or fancy since it was just for the family. They requested that the Wheel of Fortune, from the tarot card not the game show, be drawn on the face of the cake and a wedding topper of their choice stood in the middle. To show their humorous and fun-loving side, they had carved little hats out of carrots for the topper figurines to wear since both the bride and groom were “carrot tops”.

Now for some photographs!

The non-traditional carrot cake wedding cake decorated with a simple shell border and the Wheel of Fortune on top.

The non-traditional carrot cake wedding cake decorated with a simple shell border and the Wheel of Fortune on top.

Most people love macarons but it seems that opinions were divided over these that night. I suppose the ginger was a bit strong for some.

Most people love macarons but it seems that opinions were divided over these that night. I suppose the ginger was a bit strong for some.

Chocolate Cupcakes with Salted Caramel Buttercream are always a favorite.

Chocolate Cupcakes with Salted Caramel Buttercream are always a favorite.

Coconut Macaroons (with two 'O's) for the bride who loves coconut.

Coconut Macaroons (with two ‘O’s) for the bride who loves coconut.

Chocolate-dipped eclairs filled with vanilla pastry cream. Simple and succinct.

Chocolate-dipped eclairs filled with vanilla pastry cream. Simple and succinct.

Pumpkin Cheesecake with a quick swirl of buttercream.

Pumpkin Cheesecake with a quick swirl of buttercream.

The whole table. Here you can also see the Baklava since I have no close up. I borrowed dishes from various family members to assemble the display!

The whole table. Here you can also see the Baklava since I have no close up. I borrowed dishes from various family members to assemble the display!

Thank you to everyone who either encouraged me, helped me, kept me sane, or lent me dishes (including those who might not have realized they lent me dishes, Brenda. 🙂 It was a rewarding process and hopefully next time won’t be quite so terrifying.

Happy Fall everyone!

