It has been a leisurely Sunday morning. I always enjoy working with sugar and there is plenty of it in these photos. On this blog, I am going to start by taking lessons from a cake decorating textbook and putting the results here. Today is Chapter One: Basic Piping Skills. The icing is a Swiss Meringue Buttercream, the richest, smoothest, fattiest frosting you could ever indulge in. I used a recipe from Divine Baking. Wonderfully delicious. For now, I was just practicing by piping onto a cookie sheet, but later I will decorate actual cakes.

Image

Here are some very simple stars. There are several varieties. You can pipe flat stars, twisted stars (as those at the top of the photo) or puffy stars (as at the bottom). You can even pipe a green dot in the middle for a center. So many choices!

Image

A basic chains of tiny shells, often used as borders on cakes. They take a steady hand and can be quite frustrating to practice.

Image

Sweet and simple rosettes. Often there is something placed at the center of the rosette, such as a chocolate-covered coffee bean or edible flower.

Image

Leaves! They add beautiful detail to flower decorations.

Image

A new one for me and I think this rope piping is lovely.

Image

Fleur de lis. It needs a little practice. I’m okay with that. All things worth doing…and all that.

